Sixth Marine Division
Official Website
Medal of Honor Recipients

    The Medal of Honor is the highest military honor awarded to officers and enlisted men in the Navy and Marine Corps. It is awarded for exceptional acts of valor above and beyond the call of duty. (The Army and Air Force have their own versions of the Medal of Honor.)
    Five Marines and one Navy Corpsman from from the Sixth Marine Division were awarded the Medal of Honor:

☆ Corporal Richard E. Bush

☆ Major Henry A. Courtney Jr.

☆ Corporal General James L. Day

☆ Private First Class Harold Gonsalves

☆ Hospital Apprentice First Class Fred F. Lester

☆ Private Robert M. McTureous Jr.